Welcome to Gay.com

World's Largest Gay Community. Millions of Gay Men Online!

Sign up now for FREE!

National Gay & Lesbian Sports Hall of Fame’s Inaugural Class Announced

By Matthew Breen

The new National Gay & Lesbian Sports Hall of Fame, based in Chicago at the Center on Halstead, has announced its inaugural class of athletes, teams, sports journalists, and other standouts.

The current list of inductees includes tennis legends Billie Jean King, Renee Richards, and Martina Navratilova; Olympic gold medalist diver Greg Louganis; former baseball player Glenn Burke; NBA player Jason Collins; pro boxer Orlando Cruz; former Major League Lacrosse goalie Andrew Goldstein; the Chicago Cubs; Standup Foundation founder Ben Cohen; ESPN contributors LZ Granderson and Christina Kahrl; Gay Games founder Dr. Tom Waddell; Outsports.com; "Bleacher Preacher" Jerry Pritikin; International Gay Rodeo Association (IGRA); and Anheuser-Busch.

“We’re not just going to honor gay athletes, but other athletes who helped those gay athletes along and provided a safe haven,” said Bill Gubrud, executive director and board chairman of the nonprofit, in the Chicago Tribune.

The non-profit began accepting nominations earlier this spring and will continue to do so though June. The induction ceremony will be August 2 at the Center on Halsted, preceding the nation's largest "Gay Day" at a major league sporting event, Out at Wrigley on August 3.

Tickets for the induction ceremony will be available here.

LoadingLoading More Guys...

Register for gay.com

Already a gay.com member? Sign in here

  • Better Profiles
  • Send Photos
  • Quickview
  • Communities
  • Status Updates
  • and more!
...and more!
Sign Up Now!

Upgrade to a premium gay.com account

This feature requires you to be a Premium Member!

Become a gay.com premium member now and
upgrade your account with the following features:

  • Access premium search features
  • Browse profiles anonymously
  • No ads!
  • Add additional photo albums
  • See who gave you "Thumbs Up"
  • and more!
Become a
member now!