Welcome to Gay.com

World's Largest Gay Community. Millions of Gay Men Online!

Sign up now for FREE!

2014 CFDA Awards: And The Nominees Are...

By Julien Sauvalle

Clockwise from top left:Thom Browne, Shayne Oliver, Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters, Marc Jacobs, Raf Simons, Alexander Wang, Tom Ford, Joseph Altuzarra. 

This time, we won't shy away from saying "You heard it here first!"

The nominees for the 2014 CFDA Fashion Awards were revealed on Tuesday, and it's a bunch of Truman Says favorites: This year, Thom Browne, Shayne Oliver (Hood by Air), and Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters (Creatures of the Wind) -- all featured our latest OUT100 issue-- are up for a distinction in their respective categories.

Rising stars Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne of Public School (interviewed in Out last September) are being touted as the frontrunners in the Menswear Designer of the Year category, after taking home the Swarovski Award for emerging designers and winning the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund in 2013. 

Gay designers Alexander WangJoseph Altuzarra, and Marc Jacobs will be competing (fiercly) against each other in the Womenswear category. Double whammy for Wang, who's also nominated for the Accessories Designer of the Year award. 

The event will be hosted by another one of our beloved homos: Director, screenwriter, and OUT100 honoree John WatersNo stranger to the world of fashion, Waters presented the International Designer Award to Comme des Garçons founder Rei Kawakubo last year, and also gave the Fashion Icon Award to Johnny Depp. “I’m so excited to be invited back,” Waters commented, “and I look forward to taking the stage to celebrate the thin line that divides fashion between glamour and creative insanity.”

Two other fashion legends will be honored at the ceremony: Tom Ford will receive with the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award, while the International Designer Award will go to Dior's creative director Raf Simons

The winners will be revealed on June 2 at Lincoln Center's Alice Tully Hall, in New York City.

Scroll down to see the full list of nominees.

Menswear Designer of the Year:
Maxwell Osborne & Dao-Yi Chow for Public School
Marcus Wainwright & David Neville for Rag & Bone
Thom Browne

Womenswear Designer of the Year:
Alexander Wang
Joseph Altuzarra
Marc Jacobs

Accessories Designer of the Year:
Alexander Wang
Lazaro Hernandez & Jack McCullough for Proenza Schouler
Mary-Kate Olsen & Ashley Olsen for The Row

Swarovski Award for Menswear:
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder
Shayne Oliver for Hood by Air

Swarovski Award for Womenswear:
Shane Gabier & Christopher Peters for Creatures of the Wind
Rosie Assoulin
Wes Gordon

Swarovski Award for Accessory Design:
Irene Neuwirth
Jennifer Fisher
Marc Alary

Top Gay Stories view all

LoadingLoading More Guys...

Register for gay.com

Already a gay.com member? Sign in here

  • Better Profiles
  • Send Photos
  • Quickview
  • Communities
  • Status Updates
  • and more!
...and more!
Sign Up Now!

Upgrade to a premium gay.com account

This feature requires you to be a Premium Member!

Become a gay.com premium member now and
upgrade your account with the following features:

  • Access premium search features
  • Browse profiles anonymously
  • No ads!
  • Add additional photo albums
  • See who gave you "Thumbs Up"
  • and more!
Become a
member now!